A Song for Cornet: A Firework on #RG16’s Day Five
While yesterday’s OOP featured almost no surprises and relatively little drama, the fifth day was bursting at the seams with, how you say, #émotions — and that was due to none other than France’s very own, very enigmatic Alizé Cornet. René Denfeld media-mashes the match everyone was — and still is — talking about.
Alizé Cornet has had her fair share of dramatic matches at her home Grand Slam, but today’s 6-3, (5)6-7, 6-4 victory over Tatjana Maria probably eclipses all the previous ones.
For the first set and a half, the encounter appeared to be going according to plan for the Frenchwoman, who was the more aggressive player in the first 60 minutes to lead by a set and a break — this is where the madness, or in Cornet’s case, normal order, resumed.
So it began: as Cornet surrendered her break lead, she was on the back foot in many of the rallies, and found herself down 0-40 when serving to stay in the second set at *4-5.
Cornet was able to save herself — with one of her crosscourt backhands just about clipping the line — and managed to escape into a tiebreak but this is where the physical struggles of the Frenchwoman began to set in:
After Maria converted her seventh set point overall in the tiebreak to force a decider, Cornet received a visit from the trainer and the question of whether the 26-year-old was cramping or not was still out in the open.
Naturally, insult by the ice-cube bag was added to the injury and Maria was already entirely over what she most certainly perceived to be antics by her opponent:
By this point, the encounter was about far more than just forehands and backhands:
But it got better — or rather worse, for the Frenchwoman physically — and Cornet ended up in even bigger trouble:
By that point, the hot takes were flowing in from all over the place — including Rennae Stubbs and German Fed Cup captain Barbara Rittner:
The people were all about it:
Cornet, once again struggling with her legs, proceeded to move ahead *4-2, but dropped serve and still looked down and out — despite being ahead. From there, however, the Frenchwoman somehow found yet another gear to win and eventually captured the win, breaking Maria’s serve in the final 10th game to seal the victory.
The celebration was epic.
The “handshake” even more so:
And whoever thought it was over after that — you all thought wrong:
On social media:
And if you think this is where it’s all over — think one more time: Cornet and Maria are scheduled to play each other again — as soon as tomorrow in doubles, partnering Magda Linette and Madison Brengle, respectively.
Batten down the hatches, bring the popcorn…..and everything else.
Excellent account of the match! Can’t wait to see what will happen in doubles tomorrow 😀
Thank you Rene – I didn’t see the match so this is GOLD.
Cornet and the umpire should be fined!! This was a hideous display of gamesmanship and disregard for the rules by Cornet and the umpire! Why have rules if everyone doesn’t have to abide by them? Ridiculous display of cheating!